Vegetarian Diets

People who follow this diet avoid meat, poultry, seafood and animal based products that contain gelatine or rennet. However, many vegetarians eat cheese (with vegetarian rennet), milk and eggs.

Some vegetarians eat fish and are known as pescatarians.

If you are a vegetarian or are thinking of becoming one then ensure that you get enough nutrients in your diet, for example protein. It is usually found in animal and fish sources but if you don’t eat either of these choose pulses (peas, beans, lentils etc), soya, eggs and wheat protein (cereal, rice and maize) instead.

Diets Guide Index:

© Medic8® | All Rights Reserved